The Liturgical Year PDF files

Click on the link to download the PDF files for the volume


These files were scanned through a copy from Loreto Press with permission.  They requested that I leave there information on the book and post a notice that obtained their permission. 

You may use these books for your own personal use.  However if you wish to have them on your website or distribute them you must link to my site.

If you want an OCR version of the PDFs here is a link to a zip file with all of them in it.  The below are nto text searchable.  Google was searching inside the PDFs so I had to take teh OCR versions off.


I provide these books to you in hopes that you will have a greater love for the Liturgical Year.  I am trying to make the whole book available in html format and hopefully in audio format.  But while I work on this I thought I should make available the books I scanned so you can read them.  If you feel this work is useful and would like to help out please  click on the audio page.  My goal is to make an audio version of all that is here so people can download it to there phones or iPod and listen on there way to work and thus put them in contact with liturgical year everyday and walk with Christ through his life.

There is so much to say about the liturgical year and all of facets. Even a set as great as this will not completely explain everything in the Catholic Liturgical Year.  Gueranger says so much in his introduction.  The book is meant to be instructional to the point of devotion.  We cannot love that which we do not know and so each season or saint is spoken of in a way to instruct out intellect only so much as will enflame out hearts with love.  This is not a thorough and scholarly set detailing every facet of the Liturgical Year.  To do so I think you would need hundreds if not thousands of more volumes to accomplish the goal.  But what is here is enough to give us a basic understanding of the Liturgical Year so that we may enter into it and draw graces and blessing upon ourselves and the whole world.

The book, like the liturgical year, consists of two different cycles - the Temporal Cycle and the Sanctoral Cycle.  The Temporal Cycle consist of the main seasons of the Liturgical Year.  These seasons go :

  1. Advent
  2. Christmas
  3. Time After Epiphany
  4. Septuagesima
  5. Lent (Quadragesima)
  6. Easter (Paschaltide)
  7. Time After Pentecost

As the book was written in the 1800s you may not be familiar with some of the seasons.  For instance in the New Order Time after Pentecost is called Ordinary Time. I chose not to change anything as the older naming is more traditional and I think it will be good for people to familiarize themselves with the Traditional Rites of the Church. 

This cycle of the Liturgical year is essentially the life of Christ made present in time again.  Just as the Mass is a  "re-presentation" of the Sacrifice of Christ on the Cross, so the Liturgical Year is a "representation" of the whole life of Christ.  We are there at His Conception, birth, naming and Circumcision, his Transfiguration, and His sorrowful death on the Cross.  We get to rejoice with Him in the Resurrection and have our faith made stronger through the Ascension.  In short we accompany Christ through his life every year through the Liturgical Year.

Abbot Marmion, a great spiritual writer said that by meditating on the Liturgical year we obtain a different grace each day depending on the Feast for that day.  So the grace given to us on Easter is different than that given to us on Christmas.  So by following the liturgical year we can obtain that special grace on each day as God wants to give it to us.  Certainly we can meditate on these mysteries on different days.  Definitely we should meditate on the 15 Mysteries of the Most Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary every day.  But we are called to obey Holy Mother Church and so by following in a special way the Liturgical year we can obtain more graces because we are following along with Church.

The next cycle is the Sanctoral Cycle.  This includes all of the Saints and even some special events like the dedication of Saint John Lateran.  Meditating on the lives of the saints is so important as each saint reflects the holiness of God in a different way.  The holiness of Teresa of Avila is not the same as St Teresa of Liseux.  One founded many monasteries, the other stayed in one her whole life and each of these saints can be imitated , with prudence, and learned from.  Each has a unique life and story that we can learn from. The saints lead by example so we should follow their example with proper discretion and spiritual direction.  This should not strike us as a surprise that God would ordain the lives of the saints to be honored and remembered in a special way and for us to learn through their stories. The Bible teaches us the infallible Word of God without any error and yet it is almost completely in story form.  We learn much from reading about what Christ did.  The example of a holy life is priceless.

In addition by studying each saint we study a different time in the Church. One could actually make a whole history class based on the history around each Saint.  And what a wonderful history class that would be.

The lives of the saints are interwoven into the set of books depending on the month of the Feast and the Month the Temporal Cycle covers.  For instance the saints whose Feasts days are in early January or late December are in the Christmas book.

So I hope that you enjoy these works.

You may notice some difference in these work that do not show up in the Novus Ordo.  Here are some question I think some people may ask themselves and try to answer then for you.

What Liturgical Year are we in?

The set here is the traditional Missal.  There are no different years everything is the same every year.  Just as Mass is the Sacrifice of Christ on the Cross so the liturgical year in a way is His holy Life.  Every feast brings us closer to Him in a different way.  And each year is complete. So the answer is that there is only one Liturgical Year.

Why are parts of the Books in Latin?

Latin used to be and still is the official language of the Mass.  Indeed Vatican II itself called for Latin to be kept.